Son's Psychologist
2018-12-28 - 8:59 p.m.

I had an appointment with my son's psychologist today. She thinks that he may be using his mental illness to take advantage of situations, such as not working, not going to school, not being at home, and not wanting to move to AZ. She said he's so intelligent and could be doing so much more to help himself. But instead he's channeling his energy into self destructive behaviors. She said he won't try the techniques she suggests; instead he just says it doesn't work.

After he dropped out of college, he started hanging around this new guy and a girl that had medical marijuana for PTSD. The girl told him he should try the medical marijuana because it helps her. He told me he really wanted to try it since nothing else had worked in the past. And I think that's where I went wrong. Since he got the prescription, he's been living with that new guy. The guy lives in a better part of a really rough neighborhood with lot's of drugs and murders. While I do believe that kids is nice and means well, he is headed down the wrong path. My son's doctor is really worried about him and said it's just a matter of time before they get in trouble. She thinks he should move to AZ with us as soon as possible. She's worried he's on the wrong track and that he might get involved with hard drugs or get killed. I don't know what I would do if anything else happened to my son. He's already dealing with a lot and I don't think he can handle more. If he's hardly coping now, how can he deal with more? A few years ago I sat on a jury and the law states that if you're in a car with someone that has something illegal, everyone in the car is charged with possessing that thing. My son would BREAK in jail. There's no way he could handle that. He's a good kid in with the wrong crowd.I have no doubt that he would kill himself he if went to jail. And if he got into hard drugs, that would be the end of it too. Why does he put himself in these situations? I don't get it.

She said that when I show emotion, I get to him. The few times he came in to her office really upset, it was because I was upset. She told me to not be afraid to show my emotion and to tell him to move. I shouldn't have any trouble being emotional. I've been pretty depressed in general lately.

She also mentioned that it's always been the two of us, and he doesn't like Brent in the picture. He makes excuses that he won't come home or move to AZ because of Brent. I asked if we should do family counseling and she said she doesn't think that will work because he's rejecting everything right now.

Brent and I had been fighting since Christmas Eve. It started when my son put a hot thing on our counter and burnt a ring into the counter. We rent our house and we have no way of repairing the counter. The only way to fix it is to get new counters! So Brent has been mad and we've just been fighting about everything. We've been thinking about breaking up. I told Brent that maybe he should just go to Arizona without us (this yesterday... before I talked to the psychologist). He said that might be a good idea. I really thought we were ending it. Then I cried. I think I've cried in front of him 2-3 times since I met him. I told him that when he's mean to me, it affects me and the way I act toward him. I don't act cold because he's not good enough. I act that way because my feelings are hurt. He said he always assumes it's because I don't think he's good enough and he gets depressed and wants to "jump off a bridge". We were okay after that.

Now that I'm thinking about it, our couples counselor said something about me showing emotion too... Maybe I just need to cry my eyes out in front of both of them to get my point across.

last - next

Site Meter Site Meter